MotoGP: Statistics of the Inaugural Indian Series at Buddh


India will host MotoGP for the first time this weekend, marking India as the 30th country to host the international motor racing event since 1949. India is one of eight Asian countries that have

hosted home of MotoGP events, including Indonesia, Thailand, Turkey, Japan, Malaysia, China and Qatar.

The Buddh International Circuit, designed by Hermann Tilke and inaugurated in October 2011, is the 13th circuit used for MotoGP in Asia so far.

Buddh International Circuit
Track length: 5.01 kmRace distance for MotoGP: 120.24 km or 24 lapsRace distance for Moto2: 95.19 km or 19 lapsRace distance for Moto3: 85.17 km or 17 lapsWhoever comes out as champion at the Indian MotoGP will certainly write their name on the history board of the inaugural GP.Following are some of the names who became the first winners on the new MotoGP track in the last five editions.Mandalika International Circuit (Indonesia) – 2022: Miguel Oliveira (KTM)Algarve Circuit (Portugal) – 2020: Miguel Oliveira (KTM)Buriram Circuit (Thailand) – 2018: Marc Marquez (Honda)Red Bull Ring Circuit (Austria) – 2016: Andrea Iannone (Ducati)Termas de Rio Hondo Circuit (Argentina) – 2014: Marc Marquez (Honda)Interesting fact, if Marc Marquez wins this weekend’s main race at the Indian GP, ​​it will mark 700 days since his last GP win in Emilia-Romagna (2021).Meanwhile for his younger brother, Alex Marquez, the Indian GP was his 200th Grand Prix race.Furthermore, Ducati wildcard Michele Pirro will replace Enea Bastianini (Ducati Lenovo) who is injured. Meanwhile, Alex Rins (LCR Honda), who is also still injured, will be replaced by their team wildcard, Stefan Bradl.

Source : Antara News