India announce bumper home series schedule


The BCCI have announced the schedule for their upcoming home series against Sri Lanka, New Zealand, and Australia.

Sri Lanka will be the first team to visit India in the New Year for a white-ball series – they’ll contest in three T20Is followed by as many ODIs from 3 to 15 January. The matches will be played at six different venues, with the first T20I in Mumbai.

The last time Sri Lanka toured India for T20Is was in February 2022, a series that India comfortably won 3-0. The visitors will be playing an ODI series in India for the first time since 2017, when the hosts won the contest 2-1.

Three days after the conclusion of the Sri Lanka series, India will host New Zealand for another three-match ODI series between 18 and 24 January, followed by a three-match T20I series from 27 January to 1 February.

India have a strong record against the Black Caps, defeating them in both ODIs and T20Is the last time they visited India.

Australia will then follow for a long tour comprising both red and white-ball cricket. The four Border-Gavaskar Trophy Tests will begin on 9 February.

India are the current holders of the Border-Gavaskar trophy, having achieved a historic victory in Australia in 2020-21.

The series will also play a pivotal role in deciding the finalists of the ICC World Test Championship 2021/23.

After the Tests, the visitors will play three ODIs from 17 to 22 March.


Sri Lanka tour of India

3 January – 1st T20I, Mumbai

5 January – 2nd T20I, Pune

7 January – 3rd T20I, Rajkot

10 January – 1st ODI, Guwahati

12 January – 2nd ODI, Kolkata

15 January – 3rd ODI, Trivandrum

New Zealand tour of India

18 January – 1st ODI, Hyderabad

21 January – 2nd ODI, Raipur

24 January – 3rd ODI, Indore

27 January – 1st T20I, Ranchi

29 January – 2nd T20I, Lucknow

1 February – 3rd T20I, Ahmedabad

Australia tour of India

9 to 13 February – 1st Test, Nagpur

17 to 21 February – 2nd Test, Delhi

1 to 5 March – 3rd Test, Dharamsala

9 to 13 March – 4th Test, Ahmedabad

17 March – 1st ODI, Mumbai

19 March, 2nd ODI, Vizag

22 March – 3rd ODI, Chennai

Source: ICC-Cricket